Day 229: “Take Good Care of My Baby”

When was it recorded?   Jan. 1, 1962

When was it first released, and on which album?   Umm…

Who wrote it?   Gerry Goffin and Carole King

Have I heard this song before?   Yes

What my research dug up:

Illustrious songwriting duo Carole King and Gerry Goffin wrote “Take Good Care of My Baby.” I’ve talked about them ad nauseam here, I’m sure. American pop singer Bobby Vee (nee Robert Velline) recorded the original version of the tune. He released it as a single in 1961, and quoth Wikipedia, “It quickly became popular, reaching #1 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 in September.”

The song inspired many covers, including one by the Beatles. I’m sure they performed the song during their early live shows because it was chosen for their failed Decca Records audition. “Take Good Care” is the final song from said audition to have yet had an official release. (George has the lead vocals.)

That’s sweet. I like that George’s vocals are more subdued than the original version’s.  I think it adds a little tenderness and gives the lyrics more dimension.

 

Sources

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Take_Good_Care_of_My_Baby

http://www.beatlesbible.com/songs/take-good-care-of-my-baby/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Vee

Leave a Reply

