Day 188: “Ooh! My Soul”

When was it recorded?   Aug. 1, 1963

When was it first released, and on which album?   Nov. 30, 1994 on “Live at the BBC”

Who wrote it?   Richard Penniman

Have I heard this song before?   No

What my research dug up:

Little Richard wrote “Ooh! My Soul” and released it as a single in Jun. 1958. According to the Beatles Bible, “It was a minor transatlantic hit, reaching number 31 in the US and number 22 in the UK.” (Despite this, it lacks a Wikipedia page.)

The Beatles recorded “Ooh! My Soul” exactly once – for “Pop Go the Beatles” on Aug. 1, 1963. It aired 26 days later and appeared on the first “Live at the BBC” compilation.

…Eh.

 

Sources

http://www.beatlesbible.com/songs/ooh-my-soul/

Leave a Reply

