Day 130: “I’m Talking About You”

When was it recorded?  Mar. 16, 1963 (one version, anyway)

When was it first released, and on which album?  Nov. 11, 2013 on “On Air – Live at the BBC Vol. 2”

Who wrote it?  Chuck Berry

Have I heard this song before?  Just original

What my research dug up:

I’m talking about “I’m Talking About You” today, but there really isn’t much to say. I actually wrote about it before – go look at Day 108: “I Saw Her Standing There.”

Chuck Berry wrote “I’m Talking About You” and released it as a single in Feb. 1961. Here it is again for posterity’s sake.

The Beatles covered the song while playing at the Star Club in Hamburg in 1962. Here’s that version from the bootleg, uh, “Live! At the Star-Club in Hamburg.”

I think it’s interesting they played both “I’m Talking About You” and “I Saw Her Standing There” that night. Paul must have liked memorizing one less bassline.

An official live recording of the Beatles performing “I’m Talking About You” wasn’t released until last year. The Fab Four sang the number once for BBC radio on Mar. 16, 1963 for “Saturday Club.” I’m not sure when the program aired, but the song was released on the compilation “On Air – Live at the BBC Vol. 2.”

I don’t like the Beatles versions as much as I like the original, but they’re pretty damn good.

 

Sources

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I%27m_Talking_About_You

Leave a Reply

