Day 104: “I Got to Find My Baby”

When was it recorded?  Jun. 1, 1963

When was it first released, and on which album?  Nov. 30, 1994 on “Live at the BBC”

Who wrote it?  Peter Clayton

Have I heard this song before?  No

What my research dug up:

Often credited to Chuck Berry, “I Got to Find My Baby” was originally conceived by American blues musician Peter “Doctor” Clayton. His single, titled, “Gotta Find My Baby” was recorded Nov. 11, 1941 for Bluebird Records and is currently only available on the album “Doctor (Peter) Clayton 1935-1942 – His Complete Recorded Works.” Alas, Clayton’s version of “Gotta Find My Baby” is not available to listen to free of charge online. I’d upload my own copy, but I’m hamstrung by my blog’s data storage capacity (and wary of shelling out the cash to increase said space). Fortunately, Pete Franklin does an apt impression of Clayton on his 1961 cover.

Chuck Berry recorded and released “I Got to Find My Baby” in Aug. 1960. The single was only released in the US, as it was not a hit. Berry is frequently credited as the writer of “I Got to Find My Baby,” as evidenced on the liner notes of the Beatles’ later cover.

Being the Chuck Berry fans they were, the Beatles heard and covered his version despite the single not appearing in the UK. Like yesterday, they recorded two versions of “I Got to Find My Baby” for BBC radio. The Beatles recorded their first version Jun. 1, 1963 for “Pop Go the Beatles.” This rendition aired Jun. 11 and appeared on “Live at the BBC.”

The Beatles recorded another version Jun. 24 for “The Saturday Club.” This version aired Jun. 29 and doesn’t appear to be on any officially released Beatles albums. All the recordings of this version I listened to sounded nigh identical to the first recorded version (which is kind of disappointing), so I’m not sure it bears posting here.

So I admit today’s entry is less than stellar.  Of everything I listened to, I like Doctor Clayton’s original best, and I couldn’t even post it here!  It looks like my next few entries are more covers, which can be fun, but when I’m more interested in getting to original compositions they can seem dull.  Patience is a virtue I possess, though, so here’s hoping tomorrow is more entertaining.

 

Sources

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Got_to_Find_My_Baby

http://www.beatlesbible.com/songs/i-got-to-find-my-baby/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctor_Clayton

Leave a Reply

