Day 90: “Here, There, and Everywhere”

When was it recorded?   Jun. 14-16, 1966

When was it first released, and on which album?   Aug. 5, 1966 on “Revolver”

Who wrote it?   McCartney

Have I heard this song before?   Yes

What my research dug up:

(I apologize for the fact that like all of the videos I linked to today have an ad before the song starts. How lame is that?)

I feel like I’ve written this sentence before, but Paul wrote “Here, There, and Everywhere” at John’s home while waiting for him to wake up.

“I sat out by the pool on one of the sun chairs with my guitar and started strumming in E, and soon had a few chords, and I think by the time he’d woken up, I had pretty much written the song, so we took it indoors and finished it up.” — Paul McCartney (Barry Miles, Many Years From Now)

As with most of Paul’s love songs of the era, “Here, There” was written with his then-girlfriend, British actress Jane Asher, in mind.  My research didn’t unearth it, but according to Paul, he recorded a demo of the song in Mar. 1965. He reportedly played it for John while in Austria filming “Help!”

“Here, There” was recorded from Jun. 14 to Jun. 16. For a simple song, there was a lot going on. A few weeks prior to recording, Paul had attended a listening party for American band The Beach Boys’ album “Pet Sounds.” Inspired to have a Beach Boys sound of their own, Paul had George Martin arrange the “clever” vocal harmonies (Wikipedia).

“The harmonies on that are very simple, just basic triads which the boys hummed behind and found very easy to do. There’s nothing very clever, no counterpoint, just moving block harmonies. Very simple to do… but very effective.” — George Martin (Mark Lewisohn, The Complete Beatles Recording Sessions)

For comparison, here’s “Wouldn’t It Be Nice,” the first song from “Pet Sounds.”

Paul also had a unique inspiration for his vocal stylings.

“When I sang it in the studio I remember thinking, I’ll sing it like Marianne Faithfull; something no one would ever know… So that was a little voice, I used an almost falsetto voice and double-tracked it. My Marianne Faithfull impression.” – Paul McCartney (1989, “McCartney on McCartney”)

(Nice work on that “something no one else would ever know” part.)  Again, for comparison, here’s Faithfull’s 1966 single, “Tomorrow’s Calling.”

Here’s the finished product as it appears on “Revolver.”

I can definitely hear Paul’s influences loud and clear. I especially like those harmonies; they support the dreamlike quality of both Paul’s falsetto and the lyrical content.

When the Beatles song “Real Love” was released in 1996, a ‘demo’ of “Here, There” appeared on the CD version of the single. This was actually Paul’s guide vocals from Take 7, the rhythm track from Take 13, and the vocal harmonies combined into one… thing (I don’t know how to describe it better). This version has not been released on any official Beatles albums since 1996.

Quoth Allan Pollack, “Here, There, and Everywhere” “is remarkable for its bittersweet tune, clever harmonic scheme, and understated arrangement. It is a landmark triumph of the soft rock genre. No kidding.” Mojo music magazine ranked it #4 on their list of the 100 Greatest Songs of All Time (of all time!  Sorry).

Perhaps more importantly, Paul and John both found “Here, There, and Everywhere” to be one of Paul’s best compositions.

“Paul’s song completely, I believe. And one of my favorite songs of The Beatles.” — John Lennon (David Sheff, All We Are Saying)

 

Sources

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Here,_There_and_Everywhere

http://www.beatlesbible.com/songs/here-there-and-everywhere/

http://www.icce.rug.nl/~soundscapes/DATABASES/AWP/htae.shtml

Leave a Reply

