Day 14: “Any Time at All”

When was it recorded?  Jun. 2, 1964

When was it first released, and on which album?  Jun. 10, 1964 on “A Hard Day’s Night”

Who wrote it?  Lennon (with noteworthy contribution from McCartney)

Have I heard this song before?  Maybe

What my research dug up:

So before digging into “Any Time,” I have to at least mention that the Beatles are being honored on the Grammy’s tonight and I feel terrible that the best reaction to ‘their’ slated performance is a solid “meh.”  I don’t know when else I’ll ever be able to watch Paul and Ringo perform together live, but I am so apathetic toward everyone else singing with them.  Plus I hate the Grammys as an institution… actually I hate all awards shows as institutions.  Who cares what a bunch of crusty old white men (plus one or two ladies and ethnic minorities for ~*representation*~) are masturbating over this year?  That and I think there’s finally a new “Bob’s Burgers” on tonight — hallelu.

Here’s what I gathered on “Any Time At All” – John described it as “[a]n effort at writing ‘It Won’t Be Long’ [a song he wrote one year earlier]. Same ilk: C to A minor, C to A minor—with me shouting.”  John sings double-tracked lead, with Paul throwing his voice into the second line of the chorus since John couldn’t hit the high A as easily.  Allan Pollack points in his “Notes On…” series (last link at the bottom) how syncopated ”Any Time” is and how the rhythm and its chromatic walking bassline bring the structure of “Long” to mind.  Upon investigation, the two songs do sound markedly similar, but I don’t want to get ahead of myself so I’m not posting a link for “Long.”

“Any Time” wasn’t complete when John brought it into the recording studio anticipating having more time to work on it.  Quoth the Wikipedia, “Paul McCartney suggested an idea for the middle eight section based solely on chords, which was recorded with the intention of adding lyrics later.”  However, by the time the song needed to be mixed, they still didn’t have lyrics for that section, so onto the album it went, unfinished.

I think I want to like this song more than I do.  Like “Act Naturally,” it’s not bad.  It just doesn’t hold my interest — I’ll listen to “Any Time” then wander away to listen to other songs, come back to “Any Time” to refresh my memory, then wander away… lather, rise, repeat.  The snippet of “It Won’t Be Long” I listened to held my attention more than repeated listening to “Any Time at All.”

 

Sources

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Any_Time_at_All

http://www.icce.rug.nl/~soundscapes/DATABASES/AWP/ataa.shtml

http://www.beatlesbible.com/songs/any-time-at-all/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/It_Won%27t_Be_Long

Leave a Reply

