Day 13: “Another Girl”

When was it recorded?  Feb. 15-16, 1965

When was it first released, and on which album?  Aug. 6, 1965 on “Help!”

Who wrote it?  McCartney

Have I heard this song before?  No

What my research dug up:

Paul wrote the up-tempo swing song “Another Girl” while he was on vacation in Tunisia.  As you can probably guess, the song is about the narrator telling his girlfriend he has found (wait for it…) another girl.

This song (like “And I Love Her,” though I think I kind of skimmed over that one) is probably about Paul’s then-girlfriend Jane Asher.  That said, I’m not sure which girl she is intended to be – the other girl or the girl the song is directed at.  The Beatles Bible online says, “As noted in Ian MacDonald’s book Revolution In The Head, throughout [his and Jane’s] relationship McCartney kept a secret flat in London, which he used for encounters with other women.”  So, ouch, but that definitely substantiates the idea that Jane’s the girl the song is directed at.

“Another Girl” appeared on “Help!” the album and in “Help!” the film.  The following music video-style clip is from the movie and was filmed on the Balmoral Island in the Bahamas.

I’m predisposed to like any music video, but this one was particularly amusing.  All four Beatles seem to be having a blast – John’s antics especially cracked me.  I’m not sure why I got the biggest laugh out of Ringo staring out at the ocean while playing a guitar (around 1:35), but I did.  I liked the composition of this song – it has solid vocal harmonies and backing instrumentation – even if the lyrical content makes me wrinkle my nose.

Sources

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Another_Girl

http://www.beatlesbible.com/songs/another-girl/

http://www.icce.rug.nl/~soundscapes/DATABASES/AWP/ag.shtml

Leave a Reply

