Day 6: “All My Loving”

When was it recorded?  Jul. 30, 1963

When was it first released, and on which album?  Nov. 22, 1963 on “With the Beatles”

Who wrote it?  McCartney

Have I heard this song before?  Maybe?

What my research dug up:

“All My Loving” is notable for being a non-single single – it was only released as a single in Canada, where it was #1 hit on the charts (way to make us look bad, Canada).  In the US and the UK the song was popular and played on the radio frequently but was never released as a promotional single.  The music industry seems so weird to me sometimes.

Anyway, I’ve read several conflicting stories about where and when exactly Paul was inspired to write this track.  In the interest of parity, I will not include any of them.  According to Paul though, “It was the first song I’d ever written the words first. I never wrote words first, it was always some kind of accompaniment. I’ve hardly ever done it since either.”

Composition-wise, Wikipedia compared the track to The Crystals’ “Da Doo Ron Ron” (also 1963) and the Dave Brubeck Quartet’s “Kathy’s Waltz” (1959).  I listened to both for comparison and definitely heard a handful of similarities.  That said, I don’t want to video-overdose this post so you’ll have to take my word for it.

Other countries making the US and UK look bad were Germany and the Netherlands, who in 1965 released a longer version of the song with a percussion introduction on the album “Beatles’ Greatest.”  Thanks, overachievers.  I found a video of this version but the sound quality was – putting it nicely – shit.  The only difference I noticed was the hi-hat at the start, so I think this post will be fine without it.

“All My Loving” was also the Beatles’ opening number on their debut performance on “The Ed Sullivan Show.”  Come February 9, it will have been fifty years ago exactly.  Since finding a video with good picture and sound quality of just this song being performed apparently requires me to sell my soul to the devil, here’s their full “Ed Sullivan” set (“All My Loving” starts at 0:26 and lasts until 2:41 if you’re really that impatient).

***1/23/14 — Apple Corps. took down the video I had linked here.  That was disappointingly fast.

There are even more multiple recordings of BBC Radio versions – one from 1963 and two from 1964 – floating around the Internet and on compilations.  I trust if you’re curious about those you can find them on your own though.

“All My Loving” appears in the film “A Hard Day’s Night” when the Fab Four get busted by their managers for sneaking out to a club while they’re supposed to be answering fan mail.

As popular as this tune is, I’ve probably heard this song before but it didn’t ring a bell like “All I’ve Got to Do.”   I really want to like this song, but like “Act Naturally,’ it keeps slipping in and out of my head.  Is it good?  Absolutely.  I can see why it wasn’t officially released as a single though (sorry Paul, but it’s no “Yesterday).

Source

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_My_Loving

http://www.beatlesbible.com/songs/all-my-loving/

Leave a Reply

