Day 4: “Ain’t She Sweet”

When was it recorded?  Jun. 23, 1961

When was it first released, and on which album?  May 29, 1964 as a single

Who wrote it?  Milton Ager and Jack Yellen

Have I heard this song before?  No

What my research dug up:

I don’t actually have a lot to say about today’s song, and it’s not just because I’m trying to get my posts to roll over onto a second page instead of smushing them all onto the front page.

“Ain’t She Sweet” was published in 1927 and was, quoth Wikipedia, “one of the hit songs that typified the Roaring Twenties.”  Here’s one of the earliest versions of it by Ben Bernie and his Orchestra, also from 1927.

The Beatles’ first version was recorded in 1961 during a performance in Hamburg, Germany meaning original drummer Pete Best is playing the percussion part.  Lennon has the lead vocals.  It was released as a single in 1964 and appeared on “Anthology 1” in 1995.

The Beatles’ second version was recorded in 1969 during a studio jam session meaning Ringo Starr is playing the percussion part.  This version was not a single but did appear on “Anthology 3” in 1996.

I don’t have anything outlandish to say today — I just really liked this song.  I prefer both Beatles versions to the original (sorry Ben), but I’m not sure I can pick a favorite between the two covers.  Even though they’re quite different, they’re both well done technically and emotionally.  I can dig ’em both.

Source

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ain%27t_She_Sweet

Leave a Reply

